99p Marvel

This morning I snaffled the attached for less than a pound. (Strains of Macklemore’s Thrift Shop are playing in my head while I write this).

Image

 

Obviously not sure how fixable-uppable it is at this stage, but I am looking forward to the challenge.

 

Some links I might need later:

It is the smallest of the Victoria platens, made by Rockstroh-Werke in Heidenau, Germany; some were sold by Pershke Ltd. in the UK. Maximum sheet 10.25 x 14. The 1930s were peak years.
After WWII, Rockstroh was folded into the Poligraf conglomerate; as far as I can tell, the Victoria name was then associated with flatbed diecutters. After reunification the Rockstroh name was reintroduced in connection with offset presses, but with no relation to the historic Victoria press. So, records and parts are long gone. What remains is in the hands of a few Victoria owners, and I am one, but my press is not a Kobold. The UK seems to be where the most Victorias are still around, and there was in the 1990s a group of Victoria owners connected with the Printing Historical Society. I don’t think it is still active.

 
 
This one properly maintained (and mine at the bottom of the page – curious): http://www.thepapertrail.org.uk/default.asp?V_DOC_ID=1187
 
Also here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rosewal/5341280936/
 
Leave a Reply

